No-churn espresso ice cream

icecream_1

One scoop El Guapo espresso ice cream and one scoop cinnamon ice cream.

Strictly speaking, I’m actually not much of an ice cream person. Really the only ice cream I’ll go out of the way for is the kind I can associate with a memory. The homemade vanilla ice cream on the 4th of July, the peppermint cones from the tiny ice cream parlor that my parents and I used to walk to when I was young, those are my favorites.
But this espresso ice cream, spiked with ground beans, has been added to my list.

espresso

On my last trip to Seattle we drank a lot of coffee, both in shops and in my friend Andrew’s apartment.  Easily my favorite latte was from Caffe Migliore downtown. Andrew describes their El Guapo espresso blend as having an almost caramel taste and he’s right.
When I flew back to Missouri I had so many bags of coffee beans in my suitcase TSA actually stopped me. It’s been almost five months since that trip and I still have a bag of El Guapo in my fridge and it definitely adds something to this simple but delicious ice cream.

And on top of coffee + ice cream is the added bonus of not needing a bulky ice cream maker. A stand or handheld mixer makes this no-churn ice cream easer to make, and less of a work out, but you can make it with only a whisk, a bowl and a freezer.

icecream_6


No-churn espresso ice cream

  • 7 oz sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 cup strong espresso, chilled (or coffee if you don’t have an espresso maker)
  • 1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground coffee
  • 1/2 pint of heavy cream

In a bowl, combine the condensed milk, espresso, ground coffee and vanilla. In a separate bowl, add the heavy cream and whip until stiff peaks form. Fold the whipped cream into the condensed milk mixture. Pour the mixture into a pan and freeze overnight. Serve alone, or with a shot of espresso poured over the top. (Because there’s no such thing as too much coffee)

Bonus: To make the cinnamon ice cream also included in the picture, substitute the espresso and ground coffee for 1 tablespoon cinnamon and a teaspoon of coarse sugar. It seems like a lot of cinnamon, but I promise it’s worth it.

Note — 2/23/13: After nibbling on this ice cream for a few days back-to-back I think I’ll probably reduce the sweetened condensed milk in the recipe by two or thee ounces in the future. It’s a little sweet for my taste, but I also heavily favor savory dishes over sweet. You might like it as written.   

Leave a Reply

